Libby Ashworth

This isn’t Lancashire! I’m at Middleham Castle in Yorkshire, researching for By Loyalty Bound.

I’m an author of historical sagas set in Lancashire – the beautiful county where I was born, grew up, and still live. I’ve also written historical fiction and local interest books under the name Elizabeth Ashworth. On this site you’ll find the first chapters of some of my novels and some short stories to read for free. If you delve a little deeper, you’ll discover all sorts of interesting things that I’ve come across in my research. Just click on the links to get started.

Praise for The Mill Town Lasses series

‘With vividly drawn characters and Libby’s passion for Lancashire and its history shining through, this gritty and heartfelt tale of the millworkers and those caught up in the Reform riots is a must-read. I loved it and can’t wait for the next book in the series.’ Evie Grace

‘An engrossing tale of hardship, struggles, love and family. I was swept away to the North of England and into the world of cotton spinners. Well researched, perfect for fans of Catherine Cookson.’  Kitty Neale 

‘Packed full of her vast local knowledge and research, her eye for rich period detail, and her self-declared passion for her home town, Ashworth’s story is brimming with romance, domestic drama, political upheaval, and the harsh realities of life in a mill town at the heart of the industrial revolution.’   Lancashire Evening Post



search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close